Skip to content
Log in
Handshake Community

Announcing the winners of Handshake’s Future Career Educators Scholarship

Five students win $5,000 award for outstanding potential as the next generation of career educator leaders

To help build the next generation of career education leaders, Handshake launched the Future Career Educators Scholarship—a $25,000 scholarship for students who aspire to work in career education—to further support the growth and evolution of the profession.

We are thrilled to announce the five recipients of our inaugural scholarship. Each of the five students have demonstrated personal excellence and commitment to advancing the field of career education and received enthusiastic recommendations from their nominators. Please join us in congratulating them!

Metztli Zitlalli Garcia

  • University of California, Los Angeles
  • Class of 2022
  • Nominator: Alejandra Garcia

Emiley Brettnacher

  • Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI)
  • Class of 2023
  • Nominator: Lauren DeHaan

Kareena Salvi

  • Drew University
  • Class of 2023
  • Nominator: Jenn Islam

Marisela Castaneda

  • University of Iowa
  • Class of 2022
  • Nominator: Lexi Fields

Alejandra C. Sanchez

  • Northeastern Illinois University
  • Class of 2022
  • Nominator: Diana Valdez

Thank you to all student applicants for your interest in our scholarship, and to all nominators for your mentorship and recognition of young professionals in career education. We’re grateful to see so many bright young minds pursuing a career in our field, and we invite aspiring career educators to apply to our scholarship next year.

A special thanks to our Scholarship Selection Committee for their time and effort in evaluating all of the outstanding applicants. The committee members were: Christine Cruzvergara from Handshake, Tiffany Taylor from Handshake, Cris McDavid from Marshall University, Nathan Elton from University of Delaware, and Norma Guerra Gaier from The University of Texas at Austin.

Congratulations again to all the winners!

Level the playing field for your students